search the site:  | site map
Hingham Massachusetts, Incorporated 1635, History & Pride

Town Government &


Committees: Scholarship Fund Committee

2012 Annual Report

The Scholarship Committee is charged with the investing of assets on behalf of current and future recipients of the Hingham Scholarship Fund. Scholarship Fund assets at the end of 2012 were $3,442,226 compared to $3,148,481 at the end of 2011. These figures include investment returns, deposits of $11,945 and disbursements for scholarships and administrative fees of $159,250. If net disbursements are included with investment returns, present and future beneficiaries enjoyed a return on investments of +14% in 2012.

2012 was a strong year for most of the major asset classes in the global capital markets. The BarCap Aggregate, a broad investment grade bond index returned +4.21%. The S&P 500, an index comprised of the 500 largest US public companies according to market capitalization, returned +16%. The Russell 2000 Index, an equity index that includes a broad array of medium sized US companies had a positive 16.35% return. The MSCI EAFE Index, which measures large company equity performance domiciled in Europe, Australasia and the Far East returned over 17.3%.

The asset mix, approximately 70% equities and 30% bonds and money market equivalents has been a consistent strategic target of the fund for the past three years. Given the perpetual nature of the fund's beneficiary interests and the low level of interest rates, the committee feels this mix to be most prudent. In 2012 the fund benefited most from holdings in US and International Equity Mutual funds. The fixed income holdings were positive but to a lesser degree.

The committee voted to provide $160,000 in scholarship awards in 2012. This compares to $155,000 in 2011 and $144,000 in 2010. The Town of Hingham authorized this program in 1975. In the subsequent years over $2 million has been awarded to Hingham High School graduates who successfully complete their first semester of higher learning.

The members of the committee volunteer their time and are listed below. We continue to rely heavily upon the skills and professional acumen of members of the Treasurer's Office, specifically Nancy Leahy, for trade implementation and accurate processing of donations and disbursements.

Appointees: Roger Nastou, Thomas Hagstrom, Kurt Weisenbeck, Matthew Welch, Jean Montgomery, Andrew Shafter, Clay Graham


(Appt. By Selectmen, ART 26 ATM 1975)

Roger Nastou
Thomas Hagstrom
Kurt Weisenbeck
Matthew Welch
Jean Montgomery
Andrew Shafter
Clay Graham