search the site:  | site map
Hingham Massachusetts, Incorporated 1635, History & Pride

Town Government &


Departments: Retirement Board

210 Central Street
Hingham, MA 02043-2758
Phone 781-741-1478
FAX 781-804-2444
Hours of Operation:
M-W-Th 8:30am - 4:30pm
Tues 8:30am-7:00pm
Fri 8:30am-1:00pm
Contact Us


Retirement Board

RetEx Officio Member: Susan M. Nickerson
Position: Town Accountant

Appointed Member: Ted. C. Alexiades
Occupation: Town Administrator
Term:2/8/2011 - 6/27/2013

Elected Member: Eileen McCracken
Department: Town Clerk
Term: 7 / 1 / 20011 - 2014

Elected Member: Jean Montgomery
Department: Treasurer/Collector
Term: 7 / 30 / 2010 - 2013

Appointed Member: Henry F. G. Wey, III
Occupation: Retired
Term: 6 / 22/ 2009 - 2012

Staff Members: Nancy Hutt, Administrator
Active Members: 635
Retired Members: 275
Board Meets: Last Tuesday of the month, 10:00 a.m.

News and Announcements:

Frequently Asked Questions has been added to assist members seeking basic information on their pension benefits and our retirement system

Pension Reform Information Sheet (August, 2012)

House Bill H00035: An Act Providing for Additional Pension Reform and Benefits Modernization. (Jan. 2011)

Social Security: Explaining Benefits for Hingham Employees

Members Newsletter Spring '13 - PDF

Mass. Retirement Guide
For members prior to 4/2/2012
For members on or after 4/2/2012

PERAC Guide to Disability Retirement

Viewable with Adobe Acrobat Reader software. Available free from the Adobe website.

get acrobat

2012 Annual Report

There are 105 contributory retirement systems within the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. These systems have accepted the provisions of Sections 1-28 (contributory sections), Chapter 32, Massachusetts General Laws. As a result of this acceptance, all systems, although operating independently, are bound together under one uniform retirement law.

The Annual Report for Fiscal 2012 contains the financial statements as well as membership statistics report, a list of new members, a list of members that retired and retired members that have passed away in 2012.

Ted Alexiades, Chairman & Appointed Member
Susan M. Nickerson, Ex-Officio Member
Eileen A. McCracken, Elected Member
Jean M. Montgomery, Elected Member
Henry F.G. Wey, III, Appointed Member